Artists > Noam Pikelny > Beat The Devil and Carry A Rail (COM4565)

CD: $15.00

MP3 Album: $9.99

Except where noted, MP3's are available at 320 kbps -- plays on iPod® and all MP3 players

Item Description

Noam Pikelny is releasing his long awaited second album Beat The Devil and Carry A Rail on Tuesday, October 25th, 2011 on Compass Records. Pikelny is undeniably the next big thing to happen to the 5-string banjo, a player of unparalleled technique, he confounds and inspires listeners with his mastery of the instrument. As a member of Punch Brothers, he has helped to broaden the awareness of the banjo in the mainstream, earning the first annual Steve Martin Prize for Excellence in Banjo and Bluegrass Music and a coveted appearance on Late Show with David Letterman with Martin.

On his long-awaited sophomore recording, Noam delivers a set that is as dazzling for its virtuosity as it is engaging for its melodic sensibilities. In addition to an all star cast of instrumentalists including Bryan Sutton (guitar), Chris Thile (mandolin), Tim O’Brien (mandolin, fiddle) and Jerry Douglas (dobro), he also shares the spotlight with guest vocalists Aoife O’Donovan (Crooked Still) on a delightful rendering of Tom Waits’ “Fish and Bird” and Tim O’Brien on a re-working of the Henry Thomas classic “Bob Mckinney.”  Other standout tracks include a banjo duet with Steve Martin on the old-time standard “Cluck Old Hen” and a mind-boggling, instrumental powerhouse trio featuring Chris Thile and Bryan Sutton on the original “Bear Dog Grit.”  Rounding out the band is fiddler Stuart Duncan, Punch Brothers guitarist Chris Eldridge, and bassist Mark Schatz.  The release marks Punch Brothers fiddler Gabe Witcher's debut as producer.



Customers who purchased Beat The Devil and Carry A Rail also purchased:

Mozaik - Live From the Powerhouse (4378)

Matt Flinner Quartet - Walking on the Moon (4351)

Marshall & Anger Duo - At Home and On the Range (4333)

Darol Anger - Republic of Strings (4372)

Noam Pikelny - In the Maze (4386)

Leftover Salmon - Live (4339)

Alison Brown - Stolen Moments (4400)

Drew Emmitt - Across The Bridge (4410)