Artists > Matt Flinner > Winter Harvest (COM4569)

CD: $15.00

MP3 Album: $9.99

Except where noted, MP3's are available at 320 kbps -- plays on iPod® and all MP3 players

Item Description

One of the hottest mandolin players on the acoustic scene, multi-instrumentalist Matt Flinner joins trio partners, Ross Martin (guitar) and Eric Thorin (bass) in an experiment gone right.

WINTER HARVEST continues the collaborative instrumental project started by the Matt Flinner Trio in 2006 on their debut CD, Music du Jour. “The only rule was that the music be started, completed and performed all in one day. And of course we had no idea what would happen. By 6pm it was time to stop writing and start teaching each other our songs,” says Flinner. In one fell swoop, the project established this state of the art new acoustic trio on the cutting edge of today’s roots scene.

Drawing from their individual diverse and vast performance histories, the Trio – Matt Flinner (Leftover Salmon, Modern Mandolin Quartet, Phillips/Grier/Flinner), Ross Martin (Drew Emmitt Band, Tony Furtado, Molly O’Brien), and Eric Thorin (Drew Emmitt Band, Open Road, Brother Mule), comes together again on WINTER HARVEST as a further unified voice—part string band, part chamber group, and part jazz trio—and in the process raises the bar for acoustic instrumental music.

Says Flinner: “Since our first CD we’ve gone to some new places both geographically and musically. Most of the tunes on this CD were written on winter tours, often over the course of snowy, icy drives on cold days—but for gratifyingly warm audiences. We hope you enjoy the harvest as much as we did.”


"Matt Flinner blurs the lines between jazz and bluegrass, traditional and avantgarde.” —The Associated Press

“Matt Flinner (is) one of the best mandolin players ever.” —Downbeat

This album's MP3s are available at 320 kbps.


Customers who purchased Winter Harvest also purchased:

Darol Anger - Republic of Strings (4372)

Matt Flinner Quartet - Walking on the Moon (4351)

Leftover Salmon - Live (4339)

Pierce Pettis - Great Big World (4388)

Noam Pikelny - In the Maze (4386)

Alison Brown - Stolen Moments (4400)

Steve Masakowski - For Joe (4289)

Thea Gilmore - Loft Songs (4417)