Artists > Victor Wooten > A Show of Hands - 15 (VXR4594)

This product is currently unavailable

Item Description

A Show of Hands, Victor Wooten’s solo debut, was originally released in 1996 on Compass Records and stands as one of the most critically acclaimed debut solo albums of all time. The release was groundbreaking in that it was recorded with “two hands, four strings, and no overdubs” establishing Wooten as the new major talent to watch on electric bass. Last year marked the fifteenth anniversary of that album’s release and A Show of Hands 15 was released to celebrate this milestone.

A Show of Hands 15
is re-mastered and includes three previously unreleased bonus tracks making this version a must-have for all Wooten fans. The mastering of the original tracks was meticulously done, giving the music even greater clarity and sonic depth than the original album. The three bonus tracks include an enhanced version of “U Can’t Hold No Groove” with JD Blair on drums and percussion, “Flip Flop”, a new song also featuring Blair, and “Live Solo #2”, an unedited live solo performance recorded at a 2003 Flecktones’ concert showcasing Wooten with just a bass and looping pedal.  

Wooten is a mad scientist on the electric bass and his unbelievable talent has made him one of the most critically recognized bassists in recent memory. In the pantheon of the world’s greatest bassists, Wooten would undoubtedly have a seat reserved in the front row, right between Stanley Clarke and Les Claypool. The re-issue of his groundbreaking solo debut is set to open the eyes and ears of a whole new generation to what one man can do with just one bass guitar.


"One of the most skillful, inventive bassists on the planet but a heck of a diversified songwriter and bandleader, too.” —All Music Guide

“In many ways, Wooten picked up where Jaco Pastorius left off. When Wooten busts out a solo at a concert every jaw in the audience drops to the ground.” —Rolling Stone


Customers who purchased A Show of Hands - 15 also purchased:

Pierce Pettis - State of Grace (4315)

Pierce Pettis - Everything Matters (4252)

Pierce Pettis - Making Light of It (4236)

Eddi Reader - Peacetime (4449)

Niall Vallely, Paul Meehan, Caoimhín Vallely - Buille (4450)

Nuala Kennedy "The New Shoes" (4452) PRE-ORDER

NewGrange - A Christmas Heritage (4412)

John McSherry & Dónal O’Connor - Tripswitch